No Muslim MP from UP

18 May

For the first time, Uttar Pradesh, which accounts for nearly 18 per cent of the Muslim population, has failed to send even one Muslim MP to the Lok Sabha. Disappointed over election results, Muslim clerics blamed polarisation of Hindu votes in favour of Narendra Modi for BJP’s landslide victory.

The BJP won from all the 21 seats where Muslim population is more than 10 per cent. Major Muslim dominated seats like Saharanpur, Rampur, Sambhal, Moradabad, Muzaffarnagar, Kairana, Baghpat, Bijnor, Amroha witnessed multiple Muslim candidates resulting in splitting of votes in favour of the BJP.

“Even Dalits and Yadavs voted for Modi. Muslims alone cannot change things as they are in minority. Hindus united in favour of Modi and not BJP,” Maulana Arshad Madani, president of Jamiat Ulema-e-Hind, stated. Arshad was considered close to Mulayam Singh Yadav after the Muzaffarnagar riots. He kept his fingers crossed over the fate of Muslims under Modi’s rule. “Only time will tell that,” he added.

via No Muslim MP from UP | The Indian Express.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: